Costs

New home Forums Billing Costs

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  paulgm 1 week, 4 days ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

paulgm

Hi

I have been using this plugin for a few years now and it works really well and I’ve been very happy.

However as Google is now charging for API’s, I’m reviewing my options, as my sites are not-for-profit, so don’t generate an income.

I noticed there is a new version, and it offers a cloud licence, for so many map downloads per month; but it does not say if this is a one-off cost or a monthly subscription. the google option depends on amount of map downloads, which to be honest wouldn’t be a problem, as my site does not download loads, but I just don’t like leaving my card details with google, especially as google play has just been found to contain dozens or trojans. on news at moment. and google browsers is riddled, with bugs, that try to steal your browser entry, so stopped using it.

Also lots of people are not getting receipts, when they make a payment with yourselves, which of course I would need for credit card records for organisation.

I have the free google maps, plus I paid for the professional add on, a couple of times, so have two versions. the latest version, has no new features I want, or need; my understanding, was at time, you wouldn’t need to keep buying it every few years, or am I wrong?

Thanks
    Paul B

Nick Duncan
    Keymaster

Hi there Paul
    Thank you for getting in touch.

The cloud API key we offer (https://www.wpgmaps.com/get-a-google-maps-api-key/) is a monthly fee and does include the Pro licence with us. Essentially, you use our API key which we manage and pay us for it, and we pay Google. This is a very new product from us and the more users we get on board, the cheaper our licence may become (we may go the Premium API key route which comes with significant discount which can then be passed down to our users).