This article covers real-time location tracking in WP Google Maps. This feature requires WP Google Maps Pro and the WP Google Maps Gold Extension and is not available in the free version of WP Google Maps. This documentation targets WP Google Maps 7 and above, running WP Google Maps – Pro 7 add-on and above, and WP Google Maps – Gold 4.15 and above, with version 2 or above of the WP Google Maps Live Tracking app (for Android and iOS).
Please note that whilst it is not a requirement for your site to be secured with an SSL certificate (https://), we strongly recommend that you secure your site.
We also recommend that you keep your Device ID private.
- WP Google Maps 7.* or above
- WP Google Maps – Pro add-on 7.* or above
- WP Google Maps – Gold add-on 4.15 or above
- WP Google Maps – Real Time Location Tracking App (Android / iOS)
Once you have installed the required software, please visit your sites Dashboard and navigate to Maps → Settings → Location Tracking.
From here you can enable Live Tracking on your site.
We recommend that you disable this feature when not in use. Enabling this setting configures the plugin to poll the server periodically to get updated marker locations. For each visitor on a map page on your site, an update request will be sent every minute. This may cause load on the server for sites that experience heavy traffic.
Next, you need to pair the devices you would like to track with the site.
Firstly, please open the app on your mobile device and navigate to the app settings.
Once you enter a URL, your device will attempt to make contact with the sites Live Tracking endpoints. You will see a confirmation message once a connection has been established.
Once your mobile device has established a connect, you will see a message prompting you to approve the device.
Please go back to your sites dashboard and approve the device with the corresponding ID.
Once approved, your are ready to start sharing your live location.
By default, the app will start broadcasting your location to the site immediately. Locking or resetting the device will not stop your location from being transmitted – these are fail-safes in case of a crash or similar event. When you want to stop live tracking, you must turn off location sharing from the app.
When your location is being shared, the broadcast button will be lit up, and you will see a push notification in your devices panel.
You can pick which map you would like to broadcast to through your settings panel on the app.
Once you have paired your device and the device has transmitted an initial location to your site, you can find your marker on the relevant map and edit your marker from there, in the instance you should wish to add a description, image or change the icon.
Was this article helpful to you?